Woodlands Park Nursery School & Children's Centre

Woodlands Park Nursery School & Children's Centre



The curriculum is a general term for everything we want the children to learn about. 

It is also the way we foster and encourage to develop their potential.  At Woodlands Park we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS 2012), the statutory framework that sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five with the aim of ensuring that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. 

There are 3 characteristics of effective learning which are:

  • Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things and 'have a go'

  • Active learning -children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulty, and enjoy achievements

  • Creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas and develop strategies for doing things

There are 7 identified areas of learning that shape the early education framework.  All these are important and are interconnected and divided into 2 levels - the prime areas and the specific areas.

An Enriched Curriculum

We are committed to supporting children to develop their learning through real experiences. As a consequence we work hard to plan a curriculum which includes a series of events, trips and visitors coming to the Nursery.

This provides the opportunity for children’s learning to be linked across the curriculum so they can apply skills in different areas. When the Staff Team plan the nursery programme, they organise activities to link with a theme, interest or learning need, or provide opportunities that the children may not usually experience. They ensure that children are allowed the opportunity to become actively involved in these experiences.

Every half term staff from across the Centre meet together and create a Curriculum Map.  This is a plan of the shared experiences (including trips out of the Centre and visits into the Centre) that will be happening in the coming weeks. 




Forest School

Marvellous Mark Making

Big Story

Story Groups

Talking Tubs